This village is situated on the south-west side of the Lauzière massif on the edge of the mountainside which ends up on the right hand bank of the river Arc. It has 237 inhabitants, and this quiet village has managed to evolve whilst retaining its original identity.
A small business park houses with 2 garages, one MOT centre and craftsmen.
In this former presbytery you will discover 3 gîtes de France (2 apartments sleeping 4 and one for 6 ). See accommodation page on website.
The Church L’Eglise Saint Barthélémy, patron saint of all the corporations involved with the preparation of animal skins , leather works, is in a quadrilobe style of architecture (four-leaf clover forms) and was built in 1832.
Since 1975 renovation works undertaken include : electrifying of the church bells (1975), floors and electrics updated (1982), roofing and belltower (1995), interiour and exterior paintwork (1999).
All these renovations enhance the artwork on display: Le martyre de Saint Barthélémy de juin 1713 attributed to the Gabriel DUFOUR workshop.
La Chapelle Notre Dame des Grâces complete renovation, located in the hamlet of la Martinière d’en Bas..
An artificial lake that attracts fishermen, a tennis court, football ground forest walks above the village.
3km away the lake in St Rémy de Maurienne is open for swimming during July and August
The village is located 20 minutes from the ski resorts of St Colomban des Villards (domaine des Sybelles) and St François Longchamp and is near to the National Park Parc Naturel de la Vanoise.